Welcome!

Hi!

My name is Selina, and I’ve recently developed a passion for growing succulents and other drought-resistant plants.

It began a few months ago, when my brother gifted me three alien-like air plants, or “tillandsia,” during a trip to Seattle. I transported my new plants all the way back to my home in Texas, and set up their terrarium homes. I went about my life, occasionally misting these peculiar plants as I was instructed.
A few weeks later, my tillandsia started to look sad and grey so I did some research about how to properly care for them. I learned that I wasn’t watering my tillandsia nearly enough and that I had sent them into dormancy – something that normally only happens during a drought. I dove into the world of drought-resistant plants and as my collection grew, I realized that the care instructions most plants come with at stores were incorrect or completely lacking. Often, customers will take home an exotic plant without even knowing what it is. This leads to people mistreating their plants, and losing interest in nurturing nature because they’re worried their plants will continue to die.

This is a succulent that I recently had to nurture back from a wilting stump. I made the mistake of over-watering but with some careful re-potting, I could save this beautiful ghost plant. (Photo by: Selina Quick)
This is a ghost plant that I accidentally over-watered, but with some careful re-potting I was able to save it. (Photo by: Selina Quick)

I decided to start this blog to share my knowledge about succulents and help others prevent or reverse some common mistakes that beginners make with these beautiful arid plants. Some of the initial problems people encounter include: purchasing the wrong plants for their local climate, over-watering, using the wrong soil, or improperly potting their plants. I will cover these topics in greater detail as I continue to develop my blog in the hopes of helping others to get their garden to flourish.

Until then, this “Simply Succulents” blog is a great resource for discovering which climate zone you live in and which plants do best in these regions. Once you learn more about your area’s climate, you can purchase your plants with more confidence that it will survive in your yard or home. If you discover you live in a region that is not succulent friendly (e.g. a cold, wet climate), don’t worry! You can still start your succulent garden, as I will discuss different tips and tricks to growing succulents indoors.

You can view more pictures and keep up with new posts if you follow me on Instagram and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

